Ubuntu 10.04 mySQL login issue - following install guide.

Guest tomoose

Hey :)

First off all, I'm completely new to mysql. I had heard of it before, and I knew what it was, but I'd never used it. I have small C++ experience, but mostly alot of python experience, but I doubt this is a code issue.

I'm following the wiki's compiling on ubuntu guide, and am up to section 1.8.1 - creating the database.

The wiki is telling me to try the following command into the bash shell:

mysql -u mangos -ppassword < /opt/mangos/mangos/sql/create_mysql.sql

I have created the mangos user, and if i just use a plain

mysql -u mangos -p
OR mysql -u mangos -ppassword

command, it will ask for the password and then log in into the command shell fine, but when I try and execute the command straight from the shell, I get the following (exactly this) error:

ERROR 1045 (28000) at line 1: Access denied for user 'mangos'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I'm sure that I'm not just spelling my password wrong, and I followed the user creation steps as given in the guide.

I also have no clue as to anything about mysql though, I'm not even sure what this step does tbh. I cd'ed to the directory, and there seems to some sql files already there, so I presume this links them to the user or something?

If I knew what the command did, I could possibly google up a solution if no-one else knows what to do, but I'm completely lost as to what the < does :(

I have googled and used the forum search, read the FAQS, all the installaiton guides I could find, but they all seem to be quite outdated.

The versions I am using are the most recent git and svn releases of mangos (as of this morning, when I pulled them) and of all the other requirements, and the scriptdev2 and udb databases it tells you to download.

Please tell me if I missed anything :)

EDIT: using sudo does not change anything, so admin privileges don't make a difference :(

Try using your mysql root account to create the databases