About connections from proxy servers

Guest ankso

Greetings to all!

It's well known to all admins of almost any type of server, (webserver, MaNGOS or whatever), that there would be allways undesirable users that will try to do "bad things". And is also well known that sometimes this "users" will use a proxy server, so ban the IP is a waste of time, they change the proxy server and restart the hostilities.

I need a little help with this stuff, I'm relatively new in administration of on-line servers and any advance about how to fight against that subject will be welcome, for example, is there any way to block all connections comming from a proxy server?

Also this thread could be a good place to discuss about security and exchange tactics/opinions. I post it here beacuse is not only MaNGOS related, and could be interesting.

Thanks for reading!

Nice idea for a thread.

Typically with the servers I maintain they need to be accessible by our customers, which means trying to block proxies could potentially block legitimate customers as well

We spend a large amount of time just making sure we have secure passwords on anything that needs them, limit which users are actually allowed to login (this means disabling root login and other system users)

SSH logins are only allowed by key based authentication

Firewall setup to allow only specific hosts we define are allowed to connect directly to MySQL, customers have no need to connect to the DB directly since the webserver is the frontend to the DB

One thing i've been working on lately to counter attack MySQL injection attacks is validating the data before it goes through to mysql

for example we have some pages that use a GET variable which should always be numeric and no more than 6 digits, so in code we check that this is the case if its not then we reject the request altogether (some places this isn't as easy, like a website search feature)