Problems connecting over WAN

Deathomen

Question

I seem to be having a bit of trouble with my newly configured server. First I'll give you a little background so you know my experience level and what suggestions would/would not be helpful. I apologize in advance for the novel...

I've been in and out of the emulation scene for about 5-6 years now. I originally started out using a MaNGOS repack when I was a newbie, then shifted over to an Antrix server when I started compiling and configuring my own. I followed the Antrix path up through ArcEmu but left the scene about a year and a half ago, coming back for very brief occasions since then. I assisted with several database projects and even ran one of my own during the peak of my involvement. I've also created several basic C++ scripts and core modifications. I'm generally the person providing assistance for those who are having problems ranging anywhere from simple to mid/early advanced issues. Since I don't have a very strong C++ background experience I'm not able to answer or handle some of the more intricate core modification questions, but I've always had a drive to expand my knowledge. With that being said, I'm returning to MaNGOS for the first time in quite a long time.

In a general sense, I should be able to configure a MaNGOS server using the experience I have from previously - and for the most part I've done just that. I got everything installed and compiled the MaNGOS and ScriptDev2 files with no problem. I've been able to extract the required client files and get my server running and accessible on my local machine. I've also been able to configure the server to be accessed by other machines on my LAN, and I have a dedicated box that I run the server on. The problem comes in when I try to access the server from a machine outside my current LAN, such as when my brother tries to connect to the server from my parents' house. Here's what I've done to make this happen..