[VoiceChat] Basic Questions

scholl3ss

Question

Hi guys!

I just signed up here, it's my first post. (You can see that - obviously - but I did not find another introduction to my toppic.)

So, this thread differs a lot from other people's topics here, but I hope, that someone can help me.

I never played WoW or any other MMORPGs, that's why I don't have much knowledge of it.

I'm an applied informatics student at university, and I have to write a termpaper about

ANYTHING(!) in a MMORPG. We do not have any limits for it - it has just to be about MMORPGs.

The length should be between 2 and 5 pages, excluding Overview, Literature etc.

As I said, I'm not really into this, so it's hard for me finding something to write about.

Since I'm very concerned about audio in my freetime, I wanted to do something in this area.

Unfortunately I did not find any information about the source of the official WoWservers (no wonder),

that's why I searched for some privateservers, and found Mangos.

(btw: The description of the community sounds pretty much like a cult :P)

I'm working much with C and VB (yea.. flame me guys - but I have to learn it for my company :/)

and i hope I can track the C++ Scripts - at least with some help of google.

I have several questions (yes, I googled and shit, but I didnt find much helpfull things):

- Is there a voiceserver included in mangos at all? (if not: ignore the remaining questions)

- Is the source for it public?

- Are common codecs used (I think so - would'nt be everything else inconvenient?)

- Could it be compared to the original server's voicechat?

- Is there a documentation anywhere? (I hope so - or I rather THINK so)

- Since this is a open-source project (I hope it is?): Is there a possibility of finding the guys who coded it, for some special questions

(I'll have to proof every damned word I'll write)

- Are there other open-source projects, that could be compared with Mangos? (Traffic usage, codecs, compression, latency...)