Client can't connect using external IP

ozium

Question

Hi, I'm new to running a private WoW server and I have a few questions.

When using my internal IP, I am able to connect and log in using the default administrator/administrator credentials.  I can't seem to get my client to connect using my external IP.

My server's internal IP address is 192.168.1.146
My network's external IP is 100.14.93.118
I am running Ubuntu 16.04 using MySQL
I have been playing around with different combinations of client config.wtf files and server database configuration to try to make external access possible.

My router is configured to forward the following ports to the server's IP address (192.168.1.146) using the destination port the same as the source port:
TCP+UDP 8085 > 192.168.1.146
TCP+UDP 3724 > 192.168.1.146

realmlist.wtf=192.168.1.146:3724 (Internal IP)
MySQL one_realm.realmlist address=192.168.1.146 (Internal IP) port=8085
The client connects to the server and I can create a character as normal

realmlist.wtf=100.14.93.118:3724 (External IP)
MySQL one_realm.realmlist address=192.168.1.146 (Internal IP) port=8085
"Unable to Connect"

realmlist.wtf=100.14.93.118:8085 (External IP)
MySQL one_realm.realmlist address=100.14.93.118 (External IP) port=8085
"Unable to Connect"

realmlist.wtf=100.14.93.118:3724 (External IP)
MySQL one_realm.realmlist address=100.14.93.118 (External IP) port=3724
"Unable to Connect"

Why does it seem to connect successfully when using an internal IP, but not when using the external IP of my network?

Also, how do I set up a page so my users can create an account on my server?  Are there instructions to configure a login page to create a use?  I'd like to avoid creating all my friends' accounts manually if I can avoid it.

Thanks for the help!

7 answers to this question

Thanks for the response!