My pc is getting old (6 years), and i'm looking into buying a new one at last.

But I always did the following:

Compile Mangos on my pc (xp 32bit) and then, when all was fine,

i copied the files over to my other pc wich is dedicated to mangos (family&friends-scale server), and also runs xp32-bit.

I'd like to keep Xp on the mangos dedicated one, since i know Xp 'pretty well',

whilst i have little knowledge of 'finetuning' win7 for running mangos 24/7.

So:

Can I compile Mangos on win7 32-bit and then copy it over to a winXP 32-bit machine, and see it run flawlessly like before?

it _should_ be possible, but I would advise some tests if the stuff is running ;)

I built some win32 files recently, hey might include custom content (so maybe you won't get over loading creature_template), but this should be good enough to check if they actually run.

http://filebeam.com/d15793fd574a000047498cb7162a748e

They were built on Win7 64bit with VC100 in 32bit Release mode

http://filebeam.com/d15793fd574a000047498cb7162a748e

They were built on Win7 64bit with VC100 in 32bit Release mode

That is the best way to verify indeed. Thank you!

2011-09-10 18:51:59 WORLD: World initialized

Booted perfectly. :)

Yet, with the 4gig ram limit (would like to mount 8gig ram) of 32bit OS, I think i'm gonna use this as best solution:

A dualboot (why didn't i think of that earlier^^):

-Win7 64bit as gaming environment

&

-XPpro 32bit as Mangos build&test environment

Now, off to choosing parts. <:)

Thanks again for intel guys! :)

You cannot have both operating systems running on the same computer at the same time. Why dont you just run mangos in win7 aswell? Also i think a application needs to be 64 bit compiled to use the " highmem ", so if you run mangos in 64, it will have a few gigs for itself... But this is just how i understood it

You cannot have both operating systems running on the same computer at the same time.