[Wiki] scriptzero compile error

klyxmaster

to help any of the devs offering a little assistant, i been compiling servers for little over 6yrs.. so no noob here (alhtough have been known to cross compile LOL)

Ok, with that being said. I live and breath vanilla - just love it, I 've done everything up to cata. but prefer vanilla..

I compiled the script and imported as usual. ran perfect. flawless the first time (hey, after a few years it better :-) )

Then got a nasty bug - Oooo Ya, forgot to compile the script. - so went to do that. got the famous following error:

1>------ Build started: Project: ScriptDev0, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>  Extracting revision
1>  The system cannot find the path specified.
1>C:\\Program Files (x86)\\MSBuild\\Microsoft.Cpp\\v4.0\\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(151,5): error MSB6006: "cmd.exe" exited with code 3.
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

no biggy, things have changed over the years.. so reread the tuts - got al lthe correct git clones recompiled - same error.

I moved the script0 to /src/bindings/script0

same error.

So me thinks I am getting compiler procedures mixed up.. can anyone point me in the right direction. what is the path it cant find?

current path layout:

C:\\vanilla\\mangosZero_src\\server\\src\\bindings\\scriptdev0

I retraced my steps - apparently the first compile of mangos was on "debug" - which is odd since I had it default to "release", so while it appeared to compile, it was not, and i kept rechecking the script for "release" - it was only when I went back and did it from scratch that I saw the "debug".

All is good.

attn mod: you can delete this thread, or leave it as another thing to check when people stumble on that error (and I see it posted a lot) - my first suggestion would be to make sure they have it set on "RELEASE" unlike noob me :-)

cheers - glad you keep the project going!!

Important Information