Greetings everyone,

I am a new guy around. I never looked at the MaNGOS source since recently. I am a computer science student, and I know good C/C++, python, BASH/unix. Apparently, I am interested in development although there's a problem I encountered. There's no documentation regarding the source. It's just pieces of code here and there -- I couldn't find some proper diagram/picture/document representing the whole structure, or something that would help me get into development quicker. I don't have time to review each and every line of code to understand the mindset of the project, so please, is there any paper I can look at? If not, I am willing to help in order to illustrate the code-structure and documentation.

Pleasure to meet you all :).

There is not a central repository of a map of the core, sadly documentation was something that was overlooked for years

For the last year, I have been pushing major updates to the wiki information and several devs have helped out

- There was also an effort to add doxygen comments to the code, but I don't know the current status of that :(

I am happy to try and guide you around as best I can.

Hi, niemal :D

Welcome to our merry band :D

The Tracker area would be a good place for you to visit. Accessed via the menubar at the top of the page, next to FORUM. It's split into sections, each representing the issues currently faced/found for each core version (Zero (Vanilla), One (TBC), Two (WOTLK), etc), then divided again into Server, Database, and Scripts.

Server is C++ (I think Eluna too)

Database (MySql)

Scripts (Eluna and ScriptDev2)

Eluna is basically LUA

ScriptDev2 is basically C++

Scripts are for creating things, events (additions to quests, combat) etc. that happen in the game world.

You could pick a core to focus on, as I did at the start. I buried myself in Zero (Vanilla), but now wandering all over the place.