Chucksta

Hi all,

I literally just got my WoW Zero server up and running, so, feeling buzzy, I thought I'd post an intro.

I now have a live server for my friends to mess about in, and I'll also set up a test server for me to play with the database and code, now that I know what to do to get it up and running. I can't wait, just love to hack and code!

I'm a coder by trade: C, C++, C#, x86, PHP <- the current active scripting/programming languages, but others regularly pop in and out of use, especially LUA and Javascript :D I tried my damnedest to avoid Javascript, but the requirement for updates to just parts of the web page required the use of AJAX :-( . Good stuff, though, in the end :-)

I used mangos originally way back in 2006, then after a long break tried cmangos, then this time round I went:

mangos -> cmangos -> trinity -> mangos

mangos on a Win7 build - too much lag

cmangos - tried Win7 but had the lag again, so switched to Ubuntu (super fast), but had a line of sight issue in game (many hours of fiddling and no joy) <-- I will resolve this!!!

trinity - doesn't seem to support classic/vanilla, I could be wrong, but at this point my head was about to explode :mad:

mangos (again) - with Ubuntu build, and blimey - perfection is perfected :D

I only had 2 hick-ups that required some searching:

1) Missing LuaEngine.h

fixed by using: git clone --recursive git://github.com/mangoszero/server

2) Complained about the dbc, map, vmaps

fixed by compiling the extraction tools in: mangos/server/src/tools/map-extractor folder, and moving the executables to the WoW client folder.

Even though my server is Ubuntu, I used the MS windows installation (I'd tried that version of the server first and just happened not to have deleted it) to compile the extraction tools, then ran them via GIT Bash. I done that because I ran across a recent post where someone had issues with compiling in Linux, doable but a fiddle, it seemed.